The church “St. Kosma and Damian”
- The church “St. Kosma and Damian” (in cemetery park of Sandanski) was built in 1861. It has a rich three-tier iconostasis painted until the last years of the nineteenth century. The temple is one of the few entirely preserved temples during that period (architecture, frescoes and iconostasis). The church is unique with its history – almost all known Melnik icon painters worked on the iconography – Iakov Nikolaj, Lazar Argirov, master Andon and others. In this church, visitors can acquire the most overall idea of Melnik art school.