Saint Nicholas The Miracle Worker church
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/augmfpow/public_html/sandanskicrossborder.com/en/wp-content/plugins/opalactivity/templates/single-activity/content.php on line 17
It is situated in the south-eastern part of Melnik, near the town center, and is a monument of culture of international importance. The church was built in XIII century.
In the Middle Ages it was a small one-nave building, but during the ages it was reconstructed and expanded several times. In 1756 it got its look of today, prove of which is an inscription on the alter wall in the eastern part of the church. In 1895 the church was burned down, but in XX century it was reconstructed again by the National Institute of Cultural Monuments.
Unique icons of great artistic value, representing unique pieces of art of Melnik art school, are preserved inside of it. Today, the church is one of the few still functioning churches in the town of Melnik.